4.20.13 Picture Inductees

2013 Inductees/Representatives - L-R:  
Trent Lott, Dixie DeWees, Pat Scanlon, Constance Slaughter-Harvey and William   F. Goodman, Jr.

William H. Watkins, founder of Watkins & Eager was inducted posthumously into the University of Mississippi School of Law Alumni Hall of Fame, Class of 2013 during the Law Alumni Weekend. William F. Goodman, Jr., grandson of Mr. Watkins and a member of Watkins & Eager accepted the honor for his grandfather.

Five alumni of the University of Mississippi School of Law were inducted into the 2013 class. Inductees include the late Herb DeWees of Meridian; Constance Slaughter-Harvey, Forest; the late William Watkins, Jackson; Trent Lott, Pascagoula and Pat Scanlon, Jackson, and a former member of Watkins & Eager. The induction was part of weekend-long festivities hosted annually by the Law Alumni Chapter of the University of Mississippi Alumni Association.

"This is a wonderful opportunity for us to recognize those who have paved the way to excellence in our profession," said Richard Gershon, dean of the University of Mississippi School of Law.  "These five alumni are truly deserving of this great honor."

The late William Hamilton Watkins received his LL.B. degree in 1895 from the University of Mississippi.  Upon graduation, Mr. Watkins became the 20th lawyer in the Jackson bar, specializing in civil and corporate law, and then went on to become a founder of the Jackson law firm Watkins & Eager.

Mr. Watkins was known for excellence and expertise in appearances before, and submissions to, the U.S. Supreme Court.  He was a member of the American Law Institute and authored the annual Martindale-Hubbell summary of Mississippi law.

He served as president of the Mississippi Bar and served terms in the House of Delegates of the American Bar Association.  He was president of the Board of Trustees of the State Department of Archives and History, charter member of the Jackson Rotary Club and a founding member of the Jackson Little Theatre.  He served as director of Jackson-State National Bank and of The Gammill Company, and was on the Board of Trustees of Tougaloo College.

The University of Mississippi Law School Alumni Hall of Fame inducted its first class in 2010 which included two Watkins & Eager attorneys, William F. Goodman, Jr. and the late Honorable Charles Clark.  William M. Champion a former associate with the firm was inducted in 2012.

Click here for more information about the 2013 University of Mississippi Alumni Hall of Fame.